20294073_10156373203868448_5545882386040661988_n (1).jpg

Montague Basement is an Sydney-based independent theatre company launched in 2014.

Like so many independent companies Montague Basement began as a name to stick on a Fringe show. After collaborating together frequently in the Sydney University Dramatic Society (SUDS) Imogen Gardam and Saro Lusty Cavallari began work on their first independent collaboration Procne & Tereus as part of the 2014 Sydney Fringe. After the show’s warm response from audiences and critics Montague Basement began to establish itself as a company in 2015 with All About Medea at the Sydney Fringe and Hamlet at PACT Theatre.

After establishing the company through their own collaboration Montague Basement expanded to collaborate with other young artists throughout Sydney. 2016 saw the presentation of 9 different works, an unprecedented feet for an unfunded and unhoused independent company. This season saw two new works by playwright Charles O’Grady (Kaleidoscope, Telescope), Lusty-Cavallari’s original work The Big Bruise, an ambitious three-show residency at the Sydney Fringe (Tammy & Kite, Metamorphoses, Crave) and a double bill of radical reworkings of two Shakespeare plays (Macbeth and Taming of the Shrew).

Since then Montague Basement has remained a continued presence in Sydney independent theatre - both as a platform for emerging artists and as a home for Gardam and Lusty-Cavallari’s continued collaboration. In 2018 the company presented its first interstate show, The Public Domain Opera as part of the Melbourne Fringe Festival.

For any enquiries about getting involved in any area of production or presenting a previous Montague Basement show please don’t hesitate to get in touch. To stay up to date on all news about upcoming productions please subscribe to our newsletter.


Imogen Gardam is the co-director and co-founder of Montague Basement. She has produced all of the company’s fifteen productions since its inception in 2014. Imogen joined Bell Shakespeare in 2015 as Executive Assistant, and has since been appointed Artistic Administrator, supporting Executive Director Gill Perkins and Artistic Director Peter Evans. Imogen works across casting and contracting for the Company. Imogen is a graduate of Media and Communications from the University of Sydney, and has previously worked for Hopscotch Features, Entertainment One Australia and The Festivalists. She is the 2018 winner of the Rose Byrne Scholarship for an Emerging Female Leader in the Arts, and is a Board Director for Theatre Network NSW.


Saro Lusty-Cavallari is the co-director and co-founder of Montague Basement. After extensive work with the Sydney University Dramatic Society he made his independent debut writing and directing Procne & Tereus at Tap Gallery for the 2014 Sydney Fringe. Between 2015 and 2017 Saro directed six plays in Sydney including the original works All About Medea (Old 505, Sydney Fringe 2015) and The Big Bruise (107 Projects, 2016), Shakespeare's Hamlet (PACT, 2015) and Macbeth (PACT, 2016), Sarah Kane's Cleansed (PACT, Sydney Fringe 2017) and Elana Costa's new Australian work Before Lysistrata (KXT Theatre, 2017). With Montague Basement he also dramaturged and designed Australian playwright Charles O'Grady's Kaleidoscope (KXT Theatre, 2016) and Telescope (Sight and Sound Festival, 2016). He made his Melbourne directorial debut with the new devised work The Public Domain Opera (The Butterfly Club, Melbourne Fringe 2018). His most recent piece was the original devised work Nosferatu: A Fractured Symphony (Old 505 Theatre, 2019) and he is currently in rehearsals for an immersive production of Rainer Werner Fassbinder's Blood On The Cat's Neck (KXT Theatre, 2019). He has been directorial secondment for Peter Evans (Richard 3, Bell Shakespeare), Leticia Cecares (Emma Matthews: The Space Between, Arts Centre) and will be secondment to Eamon Flack on Belvoir's 2019 production of The Life of Galileo. He is currently completing his Masters of Directing for Performance at the Victorian College of the Arts and will graduate at the end of 2019.


Zaina Ahmed

Robert Boddington

Sam Brewer

Lucy Burke

Christian Byers

Hannah Cox

Alex Francis

Lulu Howes

Charles O’Grady

Kurt Pimblett

David Potter

Jem Rowe

Michaela Savina

Eleni Schumacher

Annie Stafford

Caitlin West